My Connection to Play

As I reflect on play as a child it is nothing like play today. In the words of scholars ” Children have full time occupation. It’s called Play! Let them be occupied by it from early years until theirtwilight” – Vince Gowmon

” Play is the highest form of research”- Albert Einstein

Growing up I was never questioned, asked what I was doing or given directions on how to play. This all begin in my home my parents allowed me to play freely and pressure free. I was never sent to a particular place to play, there were no time limits placed on my play I was free. Transitioning to grade school, even though in class their were certain areas we had to play in the play was still very much free, and outside play was more like outside play at home. Play for me looked like group games outside hide and seek, hop scotch, kickball. Indoor play included board games, duck duck goose, and Jax allowing me to opt in or out as I choose.

Play today is very organized, I understand from being in the classroom that it is often for safety reasons, school administrators believe when children have free play there are more injuries. My concern with that is why can’t anyone teach them how to be safe during free play. Recess is just not the same, it’s planned, organized and limited to certain activities and if you don’t follow the rules you are punished! Who gets punished during play?

Growing up I reflect on how play shaped my life skills. I grew up an only child everything inside my house was mine, I didn’t have to share. In free play I had to learn with peers what communication looked like, how to be a team player and how to share. As an adult these are things I have to do in every job/career I have had and I can say I have been successful for the most part with few hiccups.

One thought on “My Connection to Play

  1. Hi,
    I agree with teachers teaching the children how to play safely during free play. I feel that it should not be taken away just observed for safety and redirected when a problem occur.

    Like

Leave a comment